Unaccustomed Earth, by Jhumpa Lahiri

I would like to start this blog with one of the last books I have read, that must be in every list of books. I’m talking about “Unaccustomed Earth” by Jhumpa Lahiri. My parents brought me the spanish version of this book, “Tierra desacostumbrada”, that they discussed in their book club. After many months in my library I finally decided to give it an opportunity, and once I started, I couldn’t stop reading.

This is a book of short stories, some independent and some interconnected, about Bengali people who emigrated, mainly to the US. It tells the problems of leaving a country and changing cultures, specially the problems of the second generation of emigrants, who are confronted between the culture of their parents and the culture where they are living. I live right now in East London, a place with loads of Bengalis, and at some point of the book they refer to the place where I’m leaving right now.

I have been reading about the author, and I found that she has won a Pulitzer Price with her first short story collection, “Interpreter of Maladies”, and her first novel, “The Namesake” has been adapted into a film.

The book is really amazing, and you can feel how the characters are feeling. It’s also nice the possibility that offers to read it at once, or read it as different stories, combined with the reading of any other book. It’s really well written (at least the spanish translation, by Eduardo Iriarte Goñi), and it invites you to read it sitting with a cup of tea in a cold evening at home. It’s a book to read slowly, as you would taste a good wine (spanish wine, of course :P), and to share with someone after you have read it.

Have you read this book or other books of the author? What do you think about it? Would you recommend it?

Have a nice day and enjoy the book (or books) you are reading.

 

One thought on “Unaccustomed Earth, by Jhumpa Lahiri

  1. Pingback: Book Review – Unaccustomed Earth by Jhumpa Lahiri | Asha's Literary Corner

Leave a Reply

